IPL 2021, RCB vs CSK: All-round Chennai tames Bangalore by 6 wickets to rise to 2nd

Chennai Super Kings came up with a sublime performance to tame Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets in IPL 2021 in Sharjah. Consequently, CSK has risen to the top spot.

Former champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK) seems to have amended its mistakes from the past season in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). It defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore on Friday by six wickets in Match 35 of the 2021 Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

When winning the delayed toss due to a sandstorm, CSK skipper MS Dhoni opted to field first, moving in with the same team. As for RCB skipper Virat Kohli, he made a couple of changes, bringing in Navdeep Saini and handing Tim David his debut.



RCB opener Kohli and Davdutt Padikkal were off to a cracking start, contributing to a 111-run opening stand, as both brought up their 41st and sixth IPL half-century, respectively, in the process. In the 14th over, it was the former who fell for 53 to pacer Dwyane Bravo.

In came AB de Villiers, but could not contribute more than 12, as 29 runs later, pacer Shardul Thakur got rid of him in the 17th over, following by Padikkal for 70 off the very next ball. The RCB batters could not get any promising partnerships thereon, while the pitch started to do a bit.



Within the subsequent 16 runs, RCB lost three more wickets, as it could manage 156/6, thanks to a gainful over from Bravo in the end. However, the total happened to be a below-par total on this track.


CSK put five bowlers into the attack. While Bravo attained the most success, he was also the most economical of all, with an economy of 6.00.

As CSK came out for the chase, Ruturaj Gaikwad (38) and Faf du Plessis (31) contributed to a 71-run opening stand before the former fell to leg-spinner Chahal in the ninth over, followed by the latter at the same score to fellow spinner Glenn Maxwell. Nevertheless, the openers had nearly got the job done.


Catch all the IPL 2021 updates here

It was followed by a 37-run stand for the third wicket between Moeen Ali (23) and Ambati Rayudu (32), as the latter departed in the 14th over to pacer Harshal Patel. In came Suresh Raina, and along with Rayudu, contributed 15 more before the latter was dismissed in the 16th over by the same mean.

Notwithstanding, Raina and Dhoni got the job done thereon, winning by six wickets, with 11 balls to spare. As a result, CSK has risen to the top spot, while RCB remains third.

For RCB, six bowlers were utilised. While Harshal turned out to be the most effective, but to no avail, Chahal was highly economical.
Brief scores: RCB 156/6 (Kohli- 53, Padikkal- 70; Bravo- 3/24) lost to CSK 157/4 in 18.1 overs (Gaikwad- 38, du Plessis- 31, Rayudu- 32; Harshal- 2/25) by six wickets.

from asianetnews

No comments:

Post a Comment